T-25 – Alaska here I come


In 25 days I will be on my way to Alaska. It’s a once in a lifetime adventure for me, as I will be driving  from Alberta, Canada on my own – no family or friends – just me.

I have always been fascinated by Alaska, the wilderness and vastness of it all.

Since moving from the UK to Canada I have wanted to make this happen, as I will never get any closer than being here in Alberta. Last year, when my younger brother passed away, it made me realise that our time here is short and that I need to do this whilst I have the chance. So I started planning, researching, reading and deciding. The first decision I made was to drive alone. Neither my husband nor our daughter has an interest in seeing Alaska by car, so it helped in convincing them that I needed to do this on my own and for myself.

The trip will be taking around 26 days and most of it has now been planned and the important parts have been booked. I plan to car camp most of the time with some hotels here and there. Those of you who know me, know that I don’t do camping – so this will be out of my comfort zone.

Below is a map showing the route I will be taking; in total I will rack up about 7,000km (or 4,400 miles). So, over the next few weeks I will be sharing my preparation for this trip and then hopefully share my experience from the road (wi-fi permitting).

IMG_7785_edited-2

 

And here are all the vital items to plan my trip, most valuable of all is the internet plus the invaluable Milepost Alaska Travel Planner.

IMG_7783_edited-2

Categories: Alaska | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “T-25 – Alaska here I come

  1. Tammy

    Can hardly wait to follow you on your trip! Looks like fun!

    Like

  2. Happy trails to you as you head off on such a big adventure! Congrats on being able to take such a big “bucket” trip by yourself.

    Like

  3. That’s quite a trip! Good luck, and I look forward to seeing your photos!

    Like

  4. judiclark

    I am so impressed! I look forward to seeing your journey.

    Like

    • Thanks Judi, hopefully I will be able to find some Wi-Fi spots along the journey to upload some blog posts.

      Like

  5. Have a safe trip I know you will not be disappointed at what you find as you travel through Alaska.

    Like

  6. This will be an amazing experience. Have a safe and enjoyable trip. Can’t wait to follow your adventure.

    Like

  7. How cool is this (no pun intended) can’t wait to see what your trip is like.

    Like

  8. Pingback: London Planning – Done (or how to cram everything into 2 days) | My Journey

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

