Alaska – All packed up


It’s official – I am all packed up and ready to go.

Packing is definitely overrated – having spent the last 3-4 hours doing it, I can say that I am not a fan. Firstly, you have to decide what not to take, as opposed to what to take. The what to take is easy, the hard bit is knowing what to leave behind. I was adamant not to take the kitchen sink; frankly, the car isn’t big enough to take the sink, so travelling relatively light is the order of the day. Despite paring down on my equipment, the car still managed to get fully packed.  Well, I packed it, it didn’t pack itself, although that would have been preferred.  A car that packs itself – now there is an invention. Just leave everything by the car and as you watch on it loads itself the optimum way. I’d pay for that!

I am sure I will have forgotten something important. You know the feeling – you cannot put your finger on what it is, but you are certain there is something that didn’t make it into the packed boxes and bags. Well, whatever it is, I am sure I will find out soon enough and then curse the day I forgot to include it in my pile of stuff. Thankfully, the first 5 days I am travelling through relative civilization with a pit of Canadian wilderness thrown in, so I am sure I can buy the forgotten item on my way through.

It’s not until Day 6 that I get into Alaska, having travelled through Alberta, British Columbia and the Yukon Territory to get there. Most days I will be driving for around 5 hours, some more, some less. The plan is to get to my days destination well before tea time (supper time for you North Americans). That should give me enough time to get to the campsite and set up the tent and get settled in for the night. In most cases I will be exploring the town I am in the following morning, especially as I will be in need of petrol before heading back out onto the highways.

I hope to be able to update my blog on a semi regular basis, WiFi connections permitting of course. I will be taking my laptop in order to download that days photos, so should be able to upload some of the better ones here and on Facebook for my family and friends.

Here is hoping I can sleep tonight!

Categories: Alaska | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Alaska – All packed up

  1. regularman

    Looking forward to following you on your journey. Be safe and have a blast!

    Like

  2. That’s part of the fun of a road trip finding out what one forgot. But no matter what it is I am sure you will be fine…just kick back and enjoy the trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

