Week 38 – Writing


The photo below is showing my travel journal I used on my Alaska trip. I bought this beautiful journal in a small bookstore in Bragg Creek and knew immediately that I would like to use it for my trip.

I have never really been one for journaling. Many a time during my teenage years I would start a diary only to find it a year later with about 2 weeks worth of entries. I was just too busy having fun.

In my early years of adulthood I thought, I know, I am older, more responsible, surely I can keep a journal going for longer than 2 weeks. Wrong! I just got bored writing about my day or my feelings. This time however, I promised myself, would be different. I was on my own, so plenty of time in the evenings to do some writing.

I remember on my first night alone in Whitecourt, Alberta getting the journal out of my backpack and getting settled in at the picnic table to start my first entry. I am sure I am not alone when I say it is always exciting to make your very first entry into a new journal (after all, I have had plenty of experience of first entries – not so much with last page ones though). I was excited to write about my first day and got going with gusto. Quietly I thought to myself, would this last? Would I really be able to keep it up and write every day? I admit that some nights I was dog tired and would have loved to have just gone to sleep, but I forced myself to pick up my pen and journal and write. I am so glad I did! I read my entries back and it takes me straight back to my awesome Alaskan adventure.

I had planned to keep my journal going once back home, but alas the old routine has set in and yet again I have failed to keep myself writing about the everyday events I experience. So, this journal will now be exclusively for documenting my travels, of which there should be plenty come next year. I am especially looking forward to our month-long trip back to Europe to catch up with family and friends. So plenty of writing material to look forward to.

IMG_0240_edited-2

Categories: 52 in 2013 Challenge | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Week 38 – Writing

  1. The journal looks like it is waiting for its next entry. Love the sepia toning.

    Like

  2. No blog will ever take the place of a hand written journal. I find it fascinating to look at someone’s handwriting. I have kept a journal since I was 17–I am now 60. For me, they key to success was in establishing from the beginning that I did NOT have to write every day. And it doesn’t have to be about What I Did Today. I only write when I feel the need to write. There were time when my kids were growing up and I was WAY busy that a full year went by without my writing. But–since I never said I needed to keep up with it on a daily or weekly or even monthly basis…that wasn’t a failure. I picked it up again when I felt the need and had the time. So–keep writing, when you feel the need and have the time. You’ll be surprised that it will become a great comfort to you when it’s not an obligation.

    Like

    • Wow, I never thought about it in that way – what a great idea – not making it an obligation. I will give that a try and see how I fare.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

