A sneak peek of Chapter One of my book (as requested by some of my friends)


I am writing a book – scary, but also very exciting.

I only started properly 1 week and 2 days ago (yes, I am counting) and have only really had time to write anything on weekends, but my first chapter is complete (for the time being, until I decide it needs more work). The book is about my solo drive to Alaska and what got me onto the trip in the first place. I have never before contemplated writing anything, let alone a book, but it just felt the right thing to do.

Anyways, some of my Facebook friends have asked for a sneak peek at Chapter One; so here is an extract (I am feeling quite nervous to share this with the world):

“Death of a friend or family member does strange things to you. I saw things in a different light. I thought I had already had my moments of “waking up” after having nearly died in hospital in 2010, but my brother’s death at the age of 38, I was 40 at the time, did something else to me. I realized that our time on this world is shorter than we think and that we should make the most of it (very cliché I know, but oh so very true).

The first weeks back here in Canada after the funeral were tough, really tough. I thought a lot and considered my future. Where was my path taking me? Was I happy? I decided that I needed to fulfill some of my dreams. I didn’t want to reach 80 only to look back and say “I wish I had”, I wanted to say “wow, what an adventure”. Enter Alaska.”

There it is, a small part of the book so far. I really would love to have your feedback (I know there isn’t a lot to go on, but hey, it’s nerve-racking sharing this).

I don’t know if I will ever properly be able to publish this book, or even if anyone other than my family and friends would buy it – but I just feel the need to write this, regardless of its failure or success in the end.

Categories: Alaska | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A sneak peek of Chapter One of my book (as requested by some of my friends)

  1. Tammy

    Your intro made me want to read more…keep on writing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

