Zoolights (and my one year blogging anniversary)


As I previously reported, our zoo re-opened at the end of November, followed by the opening of Calgary’s most loved Christmas tradition, the zoolights. 

This year I had to plan our trip to the zoolights around my husbands new work shift schedule, which actually worked out great. The evening of Friday, 27th December proved to be a warmer one than some of the others we could have chosen, and was certainly much warmer than last year. So we packed some sandwiches, snacks and a flask of non-alcoholic gluehwein, kitted up and got to the zoo in the late afternoon to be able to see some of the animals before they were put to bed.

Once it got dark the 1.5 million lights made the zoo appear like a magical fantasy land. The displays were just fab and the volunteers that manned the fire pits couldn’t have been more cheerful. As we made our way from the back of the zoo (near the tigers) to the front entrance, it became apparent that we had made a good choice of getting there early, the crowds were just moving in. I don’t think I have seen this many people cue to get into the zoo! Given the amount of income the zoo has lost during the flooding this summer, and the subsequent 5 month closure, this is much-needed income revenue in order to get the zoo back on track. 

If you live in or around Calgary and have never been to the zoolights, make sure you go before this years display ends on 4th January 2014. If you go earlier in the afternoon you still get to see all the animals, then have a pit stop in the Katimba cafe before heading out to the back of the zoo and making your way through to the front, thus escaping the crowds somewhat. The great thing is, if you don’t have small children, this is an event where you don’t have to borrow your friends kids in order to disguise yourselves – adults, on their own, do not stand out here! 

In addition to celebrating the great zoolights, it seems that today is my one year blogging anniversary (as per the notification from WordPress)! I cannot believe it has been a full year since I started this. Initially I set this blog up in order to participate in the 52 photos in 2013 challenge from the Element Village Forum, but as always, things take on a different twist. I discovered that I liked to write these little snippets and share my photos. Thanks to a lot of my Facebook friends (especially my very loyal supporters Clare, Kat, Deano and Debbie) this blog has seen much more traffic than I could ever have hoped for. Thank you all so very much for your support, kind words and most of all for visiting this page!

And although I will not participate in this years challenge, I will still be blogging and posting my photos.

So, I hope you all had a peaceful Christmas and wish you and your families a very happy 2014.

IMG_2982_edited-2 IMG_2990_edited-2 IMG_2991_edited-2 IMG_2997_edited-2

Categories: Calgary Zoo | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Zoolights (and my one year blogging anniversary)

  1. Congratulations on a year of blogging. I enjoy your blog and hope you continue posting.

    Like

  2. Happy New Year!
    We have enjoyed following your blog challenge this past year and look forward to your posts in the future.

    Like

  3. Happy new year I look forward to any pictures you post in the new year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

