Creating our new garden


Apologies for my absence on my blog, but I have a really good reason – our garden remodel!

Here in Canada most new built houses don’t usually have the garden landscaped, and so it is up to the new owners to do this or pay someone to do it for you. When we moved into our house 5 years ago we decided to get somebody in to build a fence and our deck (much less arguing!), but the landscaping we, with the help of some friends, did ourselves. Due to lack of funds we just went with turf, some gravel for the paths and a really nice pathway to the back gate. Some years later my husband build me a raised flower bed in one corner, followed by a tiered raised vegetable bed a year later. All this was very nice and practical at the time, but I have always secretly dreamed of a different layout to our garden.

Why we decided to do this a few months before our trip to Europe I forget now, but it seemed a good idea at the time. My husband has been spending most of his turn around here at home working to make my dream come true. This dream consists of one large flower bed, one area with a pond border by flowers/plants and then flowing into a vegetable bed, a patio area for our hammock in the sunniest part of the garden, a new small corner flower bed where normally no grass will grow and then adding some paved edging to existing paths and beds out the front. Not much!

So one sunny Saturday I went to order some Hollande bricks, 1,800 in total to be exact, to be delivered the following week. This is what 1,800 bricks looked like when I returned home that Wednesday:

1,800 bricks at the back of our garden

1,800 bricks at the back of our garden

Pallets number one and two disappeared the first weekend as my husband started on the new patio. I had never before that Saturday laid any bricks, but am proud to say that more than half the patio was laid by yours truly. The coloured border is tumbled sea glass, and boy did it take me a while to find this locally. After about a week of surfing the internet I finally came across a local business that sold these – apparently they are the only place to carry this product in all of Calgary!

The new patio

The new patio

Next on the list was the removal of the fire pit and rotivating the new flower beds. Having done all this it was time for my husband to fly back up North for work, and so I was left to ready the left hand bed for planting, as I had ordered 146 plants that needed to have a home come that Saturday night. Why oh why is that when you want cool weather to work in you get hot temperatures, blue cloudless sky and not even a whiff of a breeze? The plants thankfully arrived late that afternoon, by which time I had already finished for the day – so it was a good excuse to delay planting till the next day.

Plants all set out ready to be placed into the new bed

Plants all set out ready to be placed into the new bed

And here they are in their final places

And here they are in their final places

I must say, it was tough going, as I am not the fittest person in the world, but all plants got planted according to my plan! Speaking of being unfit, I discovered muscles in places I never knew had them in the first place, and for days after that weekend I walked like someone who had done 10 rounds with Mike Tyson, giving my colleagues plenty of opportunities for free entertainment.

Recent bad weather and my husbands need to study for an exam has put a little halt on our garden project, but we did move all the remaining bricks to the side of the house ready for them to be used in the front garden. Shifting all those bricks has given me a new appreciation for landscape gardeners and builders alike!

Now, we just have the right bed to do with the pond and then the front bricks need to be laid – I have every confidence that it will all be done before our big trip (at least that is what I keep telling myself!).

Here is the left bed waiting to be worked

Here is the left bed waiting to be worked

Categories: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Creating our new garden

  1. Landscaping is a huge, rewarding task. Your garden is looking wonderful.

    Like

    • Thank you – it seems like there is no end to the work that still needs doing, but it is very enjoyable!

      Like

  2. That’s not a reason it is an excuse! I mean how long would that take? an hour or two at the most! (Can you guess that I don’t go out in the garden much?)

    Like

    • I shall inform the husband that quite clearly he has been doing things wrong, perhaps you could come over here and show us how it’s done Ron?

      Like

  3. It looks amazing Simone, now you have to maintain them 146 plants 🙂

    Like

  4. Pottering around in the garden has to be one of life’s greatest joys, looks like you have made a great start. It will be interesting to see what it all looks like in 6 months time, what has survived and what has flourished.

    Like

    • Thanks jackscrap! We will probably find out in a few months which ones have made it, as in 6 months time we will be covered in snow again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

