My new ultra-wide angle lens (a very popular item it seems)


This is my favourite shot of them all

This is my favourite shot of them all

My latest lens is the Canon EF-S10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM, an ultra-wide angle lens. I had wanted a wide angle lens for some time, but couldn’t afford the ones I liked and didn’t like the ones I could afford, until Canon released this new lens.

Upper Kananaskis Lake

Upper Kananaskis Lake

A few weeks went into researching this lens before I made up my mind that this was the lens for me. I proceeded to phone my local camera shops, but every one of them told me that they had sold out and thought that their next shipment would be sometime in September. So I tried further afield via the internet and still no joy. Everyone told me that this lens is extremely popular and has been selling like hot cakes. Now, I could wait until September and see if I could get one later that month, but once I have made up my mind about buying something, I cannot wait for it to be back in stock. Eventually I found that Amazon in the US had stock, and even with the exchange rate and import tax it worked out much cheaper than any of my local shops or the Canadian online retailers. The lens arrived a week later and I finally had a chance to try it out over the last couple of weeks.

Upper Kananaskis Lake at its best

Upper Kananaskis Lake at its best

I am no expert when it comes to all the technical qualities of lenses etc, but I love this lens and wish I could have had it for our Europe trip!

Waterton National Park

Waterton National Park

A beautiful day in the Kananaskis mountains

A beautiful day in the Kananaskis mountains

At the back of the Prince of Wales Hotel in Waterton

At the back of the Prince of Wales Hotel in Waterton

Categories: Canadian Nature and Animals, Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “My new ultra-wide angle lens (a very popular item it seems)

  1. You have really mastered that new lens and come up with some fantastic landscapes. Fantastic!

    Like

  2. Steve

    Fantastic photographs Simone!! Ultra wife angle lenses are amazing. Have you ever worked with a 15mm fisheye?

    SJC

    Like

  3. Fantastic landscapes!

    Like

  4. wow these really need to be seen a huge scale… wonderful 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Frozen Lake | My Journey

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

