Christmas Break


20140101-IMG_3108_edited-2-Edit

I don’t know about you, but I am ready for Christmas, well, almost, if you ignore the fact that I still need to decorate our Christmas cake.

The house is decorated, all presents have been bought and wrapped and are under the tree. All food and drink has been bought and put away and the menu for the week is locked down. All housework is completed (although this mountain of teenage dirty washing seems to constantly self-replenish, no matter how many machines I wash!), the dogs have been washed and groomed and we are well and truly ready to relax.

Why then do I feel guilty whenever I sit down with a coffee to read a book, work on my photos or watch TV or a movie? Why do I feel that I should be doing something like more baking, more running around the shops, more cleaning, more tidying??? Perhaps because Christmas, over the years, has turned into this frantic week of activity. Everyone I meet seems to be hurrying around for the last bits and pieces; when you ask a colleague or friend “are you ready for Christmas?”, a hectic and panicked look greets you and they look at you as if you had suggested that you drive to the moon. Nobody ever seems to be ready for Christmas!

So, despite the fact that everyone else around me seems to be rushing from A to B without seemingly accomplishing anything, I shall resist the urge to join them. I don’t need anything else from the shops, the house does not require further cleaning and the teenager’s washing can wait. I shall sit down to finish decorating the cake, which I always enjoy, and then I might even put one of my favourite Christmas movies on.

I shall enjoy the time I have off work, spending it with my family and our friends, enjoying taking time out and doing things I want to do rather than those I should be doing.

So, for that reason I shall be taking a vacation from blogging until the new year.

I want to thank you all for following me this past year and indulging me and my ramblings.

Have a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year – see you all on the other side!

Categories: Seasonal Bits | Tags: , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Christmas Break

  1. Have a merry Festive season see you when Janus’ new face appears.

    Like

  2. Have a very Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Have a Merry Christmas! Enjoy the break!

    Like

  4. Simone, have a very Merry Christmas and I hope to see more of your excellent blogging and photos next year.

    Like

  5. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  6. Julie

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Simone. And if I remember my high school German, Fröhliche Weihnachten! I look forward to your posts in the coming year. 🙂

    Like

  7. Tammy

    Hope your Christmas was Merry and Bright….wishing you the best in 2015…Happy New Year! Looking forward to another year in pictures with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

