The Imperfect Project – Underwater Moss


In my first post on the Imperfect Project I gave a quick overview of what all this is about; in short, it is all about the Japanese concept of wabi-sabi.

In this post I want to share with you another shot from last weekend, actually from the same location. While making my way to the water’s edge of the Elbow River I came across some smaller ponds that were fed by the melting snow and ice all around. On first glancing at these I didn’t see anything that was seemingly worth my time, but then, as I got closer, I spotted something green. On closer inspection it turned out to be this beautiful aquatic moss. Despite it being an unexpected find I didn’t take a photo, well, not until I was on my way back to the car, and I am glad I did.

This is a great example of wabi-sabi I think, as it is something that looks vibrant and unusual when you are stood looking at it, but taking a photo of some rocks and moss does not sound like a recipe for a perfect shot. However, it is often the mundane, every day items that make great subjects.

One aspect of wabi-sabi is the acknowledgement of three simple realities: nothing lasts, nothing is finished, and nothing is perfect. With that in mind, almost everything around us fits into one, two, or all three of those realities.

Underwater Moss

Underwater Moss

 

Categories: The Imperfect Project | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “The Imperfect Project – Underwater Moss

  1. Love the shot and the hint of water (The Ripple Shadows) but feel a more direct indication of the water is something I would go back and try for.

    Like

    • Yes, my thoughts as well Ron, alas imperfection is all around us lol Gives me a good reason to take a drive back out there!

      Like

  2. Julie

    I like that you avoided reflection as it gives the photo a rather surreal look.

    Like

  3. Tammy

    I am just waiting for the fairies to pop up…love how the moss gives this a fantasy like feeling. And I am also loving your descriptions of wabi sabi!

    Like

  4. I love the coolness of your underwater mini-landscape.

    Like

  5. The moss look like it could be under glass. Just a hint of shadow and the story tells me something else. Not a cold scene, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

