An homage to Jules Verne


This photo started off with a tutorial on how to make hot air balloons using the paper weaving method, which I came across on Pinterest. It immediately gave me the idea to create something based on Jules Verne’s book “Around the World in 80 days”. I have always loved the story and the different film versions that have been made; however, my favourite has to be the the original movie from 1956, with David Niven, which won 5 Oscars.

I remember watching the film as a kid and being fascinated by all the different sights and sounds of the places Phileas Fogg (David Niven) and his valet Passepartout visited. The adventure they went on totally swept me away as a kid and I wanted to follow in their footsteps. The excitement of travel, to new or previously visited places, has stayed with me and I am like a little kid let loose in a candy store when I am travelling.

untitled-65-Edit-1

Categories: Creative | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “An homage to Jules Verne

  1. Julie

    This is wonderful! You’ve done a fantastic job selecting and arranging all the many elements in the frame to tell a coherent story. So neat!

    Like

  2. I love the way your original intent transformed into a project! Well done Storki!! I recall watching the movie with my mom in the theater and being enthralled with every place they went and all the amazing sights and encounters!

    Like

  3. I love how your imagination works!, all of the elements go so well together to tell the story, the hot air balloons are a work of art in themselves.

    Like

  4. Thank you all, I had fun putting this together, especially making the balloons.

    Like

  5. I don’t think I ever saw the movie but I saw your photo project and I love it!

    Like

  6. Absolutely love the balloons… almost as much as I love Jules Verne! That man was a true visionary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

