New garden visitors


For the past few years we have been trying to attract birds other than our mob squad of sparrows, with varying success. We have tree swallows that use our nest boxes, the resident robins that visit us daily and the common crackles that start popping in around this time of year.

However, what I have been hoping for has been finches. Last year I saw one finch in our garden, it never returned that year. So you can imagine my excitement when we spotted a pair of American Goldfinches feeding in our garden! And yes, they have been back since; in fact, I just saw the male feeding as I was getting ready to write this post. I think I am in danger of becoming a twitcher, the british expression for a birdwatcher. My husband bought me a book that shows all the birds that make Canada their home, seasonal and year round, so I guess I am well on the way!

I love the colours of the male American Goldfinch

I love the colours of the male American Goldfinch

The female American Goldfinch

The female American Goldfinch

Thankfully he sat still long enough to get my camera

Thankfully he sat still long enough to get my camera

Categories: Canadian Nature and Animals | Tags: , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “New garden visitors

  1. jahnisec

    This is amazingly beautiful, there’s no shame in being a bird watcher đŸ™‚

    -Be sure to subscribe to my blog for nature content: https://notsoeccentric.wordpress.com/2016/05/29/exotic-flowers/

    Like

  2. Gorgeous but looks like a three of one to me, Simone, (don’t forget the Theme Police are Everywhere-Everywhere).

    Like

  3. Yep that would be exciting and something I would of done too. X Birds what are they lol

    Like

  4. Wow, what gorgeous looking birds they are, especially the bright yellow male. Lucky you to have these visit your garden.

    Like

  5. Tammy

    I am getting tons of those this year too…usually I see a few, but this year they are in abundance! Beautifully captured!

    Like

    • That’s great, we only seem to have this one pair, but that is more than we had last year, so I am happy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

